On My List + Books I Want To Read In 2017!

Hey lovelies! Now that 2016 is over and I did not accomplish much reading, I’m hoping in 2017 to get more  done! I love to read but for one reason or another I barely read a thing last year. I have picked out a few to get started with. Some old, some new and in no particular order.
+ Illusion of Justice by Jerome F. Buting

This account of the Steven Avery case is a striking critique of America’s flawed criminal justice system. It might give you a little more insight into if Avery really did it. I watched the Netflix series and some court coverage and I thought it was pretty clear he is guilty but I’m still interested in reading the book.

+ This Life I Live by Rory Feek

Her story. His story. The love story of Joey & Rory Feek.
I bought their CD of hymns that came out last Valentine’s Day from Cracker Barrel and it is beautiful, it will bring tears to your eyes.

+ The Chemist by Stephanie Meyer

An ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life. I have a love/dislike for this author. I am a total Twilight geek, I do not even know how many times I read that series but have not really felt her work since. The “Host” was hard for me to get through but this one seems promising.

+ The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Now recognized as a timeless classic. A story about a hobbit, Bilbo Baggins and more, recounting the adventures in Middle Earth. I don’t know a whole lot about this other than it’s wildly popular!

+ Into The Water by Paula Hawkins
A single mother turns up dead at the bottom of the river, same fate of a vulnerable teenage girl earlier in the summer. Left behind a fifteen-year-old who finds herself in the care of her aunt, a fearful stranger back to a place she deliberately ran from and vowed not to return. This is suppose to be as thrilling as her earlier release below “The Girl On The Train”. I’m excited to read them!

+ The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins
Rachel takes the train everyday. One day she sees something and reports it and finds herself deeply entangled not only in the investigation but the lives of everyone involved. It’s called a “psychological thriller” and has killer reviews. Gonna watch the movie after I finish. I prefer it that way!

+ How To Murder Your Life by Cat Marnell

A memoir from former Lucky editor about sinking deeper into addiction as she rose through the ranks of the media world. I have read mixed reviews on this. Sounds interesting to me though.

+ The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams

Arthur Dent’s misadventures as the last surviving man following the demolition of the planet Earth. This I believe is cult favorite! I have been on the fence about reading it but I have finally decided to. I have been told I will enjoy it – we will see!

Does anyone have a go-to book you read? I do! Wild by Cheryl Strayed is my favorite, has been for a few years now. It’s about Cheryl’s trek across the Pacific Crest Trail driven only by blind will. A very powerful & strengthening journey. Whenever I know I’ll be somewhere and have time to read but nothing new, it’s my book! It is nice to reconnect to a character you love! Oh and by the way, I personally do not think the movie was as fantastic as the book.

 

Have you read any of the books I mentioned above? If so, what did you think about them?

This post may or may not contain affiliate or sponsored links. All words & images COPYRIGHT 2017 Life of Diane Reviews (LODR) unless otherwise stated.Please link back to this blog if you use them. I make every effort to credit appropriately, but please contact me if I am using your material for proper credit or removal. The opinions expressed are that of LODR only.

2 thoughts on “On My List + Books I Want To Read In 2017!

Leave a Reply

